Taxwriting committee changes in the 119th Congress

The following tables list the members of the House Ways and Means Committee and Senate Finance Committee for the 119th Congress. Newly appointed taxwriters are indicated by an asterisk (*) and individuals who are rejoining a committee following an absence are indicated by a double asterisk (**). Also listed are the names of those who will not be returning as taxwriters in the new Congress.

House Ways and Means Committee	
Republicans (26 seats)	Democrats (19 seats)
Jason Smith, Mo., Chairman Vern Buchanan, Fla. Adrian Smith, Neb. Mike Kelly, Pa. David Schweikert, Ariz. Darin LaHood, Ill. Jodey Arrington, Texas Ron Estes, Kan. Lloyd Smucker, Pa. Kevin Hern, Okla. Carol Miller, W.Va. Gregory Murphy, N.C. David Kustoff, Tenn. Brian Fitzpatrick, Pa. Greg Steube, Fla. Claudia Tenney, N.Y. Michelle Fischbach, Minn. Blake Moore, Utah Beth Van Duyne, Texas Randy Feenstra, Iowa Nicole Malliotakis, N.Y. Mike Carey, Ohio Aaron Bean, Fla.* Max Miller, Ohio* Nathaniel Moran, Texas* Rudy Yakym, Ind.* Not returning to Ways and Means in 119th Congress Brad Wenstrup, Ohio (Did not seek re-election in 2024) Drew Ferguson, Ga. (Did not seek re-election in 2024) Michelle Steel, Calif. (Lost re-election bid)	Richard Neal, Mass., Ranking member Lloyd Doggett, Texas Mike Thompson, Calif. John Larson, Conn. Danny Davis, Ill. Linda Sanchez, Calif. Terri Sewell, Ala. Suzan DelBene, Wash. Judy Chu, Calif. Gwen Moore, Wis. Brendan Boyle, Pa.** Donald Beyer, Va. Dwight Evans, Pa. Bradley Schneider, Ill. Jimmy Gamez, Calif. Jimmy Gomez, Calif. Steven Horsford, Nev. Stacey Plaskett, V.I.** Thomas Suozzi, N.Y.** Not returning to Ways and Means in 119th Congress Earl Blumenauer, Ore. (Did not seek re-election in 2024) Daniel Kildee, Mich. (Did not seek re-election in 2024) Brian Higgins, N.Y. (Resigned from House, Feb. 2, 2024) Bill Pascrell, N.J. (Died Aug. 21, 2024)

Senate Finance Committee	
Republicans (14 seats)	Democrats (13 seats)
Mike Crapo, Idaho, Chairman Charles Grassley, Iowa John Cornyn, Texas John Thune, S.D. Tim Scott, S.C. Bill Cassidy, La. James Lankford, Okla. Steve Daines, Mont. Todd Young, Ind. John Barrasso, Wyo. Ron Johnson, Wis. Thom Tillis, N.C. Marsha Blackburn, Tenn. Roger Marshall, Kan.*	Ron Wyden, Ore., Ranking memberMaria Cantwell, Wash.Michael Bennet, Colo.Mark Warner, Va.Sheldon Whitehouse, R.I.Maggie Hassan, N.H.Catherine Cortez Masto, Nev.Elizabeth Warren, Mass.Bernie Sanders, I-Vt.*Tina Smith, Minn.*Ben Ray Luján, N.M.*Raphael Warnock, Ga.*Peter Welch, Vt.*Not returning to Finance in 119th CongressDebbie Stabenow, Mich. (Did not seek re-election in 2024)Thomas Carper, Del. (Did not seek re-election in 2024)Sherrod Brown, Ohio (Lost re-election bid)Bob Casey, Pa. (Lost re-election bid)Bob Menendez, N.J. (Resigned from Senate Aug. 20, 2024)George Helmy, N.J. (Did not seek re-election in 2024)